This website uses cookies. A cookie is a small piece of code that gives your computer a unique identity, but it does not contain any information that allows us to identify you personally. For more information on how TESOL International Association uses cookies, please read our privacy policy. Most browsers automatically accept cookies, but if you prefer, you can opt out by changing your browser settings.


The Rosa Aronson TESOL Professional Learning Scholarships

Who's Eligible?

Any TESOL professional who is a legal or native-born resident of a country with a gross national income of US$15,000 or less per capita (as defined by World Bank) and has not received any type of cash award, travel grant, or scholarship from TESOL within the past two years. 


To provide professional learning opportunities to TESOL professionals from underserved countries.  This scholarship program was established to honor Rosa Aronson, who served as TESOL's executive director from 2010 to 2017, and her deep commitment to the professional learning of teachers in underserved countries.


Seven scholarships will be given in each TESOL fiscal year (one for each of the seven years that Rosa served as executive director). Each scholarship will be for a maximum value of US$500 and can cover the cost of the Global Professional membership ($35) along with any professional learning opportunity offered by TESOL International Association (courses, convention, symposiums, Advocacy & Policy Summit, and others as they are developed). 

To Apply

To complete the application process, you will need to submit a 500-word statement addressing the following questions: 
  • Why do you need this scholarship? 
  • How will this scholarship help further your professional development?
  • How will this scholarship benefit your community?
  • Provide evidence financial need

Download the evaluation rubric

Application Deadline

Accepting applications starting 1 July. All applications must be submitted by 1 October.   

Apply Now

2020 Recipients

Rosa Awd (1)

Past Award Recipients

View a list of past recipients.


Please contact TESOL Awards.